Salinity

Any questions or comments you have about Natural Sequence Farming processes. These could include general questions or ones about your personal problems.

PLEASE NOTE :
We do not endorse any answers from anyone in this forum except Peter Andrews himself.

Please remember, Natural Sequence Farming has to be tailored for your specific problem and to follow general advice may create more problems for you.

Moderator: webmaster

ColinJEly

Salinity

Post by ColinJEly » Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:58 pm

If irrigation and the application of artificial fertilizers are the harbringers of salinity, why aren't suburban gardens salt encrusted deserts?

brettmtl

Post by brettmtl » Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:23 pm

Hi Colin,

It depends on the area, as a landscaper I have seen flat areas of suburbia salted, parts of Geelong. But I think it could be to do with there being at least some trees in most gardens and nature strips. I am sure Peter talks about salt in surburban areas.

Melbourne's east in parts has deep top soil, where as in parts of the west there is minimal and these areas are more prone to salting. And also when I create a garden you often bring in fresh top soil and from my experience people use seaweed/fish emulsion liquid fertilizers and organic fertilizer, especially if they have children or are growing vegetables.

Where as I think on farmland there can be kilometers of expanses, without trees, being pumped with chemical fertilizers. I think there is also more organic matter in suburban gardens, leaves and weeds then on cleared farmland and this organic mulch somehow combats or neutralizes salinity

What are your theories? :)

Shirley Henderson

Post by Shirley Henderson » Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:15 pm