Gorse Control and alleopathy

If you have any questions about the new 'Beyond the Brink' book or it's contents, please make them here so others can respond or take part in any debate.

Moderator: webmaster

Shane

Post by Shane » Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:44 pm

I am currently studying environment and land management, I've also read Peter's book
"Beyond the Brink", which is sometimes at odds with what I am being taught...
I'm particularly interested in the control of Gorse. In Tasmania this plant is taking
control of large tracts of land, often rendering the land unusable unless a lot of work
is undertaken to remove it, which is costly and time consuming…
I think I am beginning to understand that the land it grows on is degraded is some way
so I’ve developed an interest in why exactly Gorse grows where it does, and although I have only been
observing this plant for a short while, I've noticed it does some strange things in
the presence of vigorous native plant growth. I'm Wondering in particular if Gorse
is subjected to allelopathy as discussed in Beyond the brink.

Has anyone experimented with Gorse control using an allelopathic approach?

Julian

Post by Julian » Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:36 pm

When I first read Peters Books, I thought Peter hasn't come across Gorse as this seems like the Ultimate Weed. It can spread via Seed, Roots and pieces of plant, and the seeds last forever. But after thinking about what Peter says, if it was that good it would have taken over the world. I would suggest treating it like any other plant, as a free source of mulch and slash it (If it is too advanced they have these mulch machines that chew it us and spit it out) Rake it into contour lines. and let the cycle begin.

Shane

Post by Shane » Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:52 pm

Thanks Julian, My plan is to spread a couple of bales of hay above the
affected area (small test site), followed by a row of finely mulshed gorse